How does a Pin Code work?

Postal Index Number shortly we all known as PIN code. Whatever the online delivery goods to be shipped to the given address definitely required a valid PIN code. If the pin code is not a valid one the order again sent back to the sender. Even most of us also experienced while placing an order on Amazon or Flipkart or any online portal.

On August 15th, 1972 PIN code system was introduced in India and used by the Indian Postal Service. There are nine postal zones in the country. There are 19252 pin codes are in India. Each pin code has a valid 6-digit code. These are helpful to identify their location and region where it belongs to. Let’s see how a postal code works? Also read: Best and Free VPN’s for Your Laptop

1. First Digit

First postal code indicates its postal zone. There are 9 postal zones are in India now.

North – 1 and 2

South – 5 and 6

West – 3 and 4

East – 7 and 8

Army Postal Service – 9

2. Second Digit

Second digit of the postal code indicates sub zone/state/union territory. The postal codes are further divided into sub regions which are denoted by the second digit.

3. Third Digit

The third digit of the postal code indicates the geographical region is known as the sorting district, which is headquartered at the main post office of the largest city in the region and is called the sorting office.  Also read: How to save Instagram reels audio

4. Fourth Digit

The fourth digit represents the route on which a delivery post office is located within the sorting district.

5. Last Two Digits

The last two digits of the postal code indicates the specific post office whose jurisdiction the address falls under. Any two delivery offices situated next to each other in an area will have the first four digits in common.